Home / News

20 Feb 2020

The most spectacular roster for the most special edition!

Six former Olympic cyclists, two Marathon World Champions, one XCO World Champion, four XCM Europeans, thirteen XCM National Champions as well as five XCO and one CX National Champion. We’re going to enjoy a unique roster for a unique and spectacular edition in which we are going to live the first level of Mountain Biking.

In line with the previous nine editions, Andalucía Bike Race presented by Caja Rural Jaén continue being a reference event for all the pro bikers. The roster presented for this tenth edition makes it clear how important this event is, even more so after the change of category with the promotion to Hors Catégorie.

On the starting line next February 25th in Jaén we will have the three times winner of this event and current European XCM Champion Tiago Ferreira. Together with the Portuguese, the DMT Racing Team by Marconi will be presented with world-class cyclists such as the two-time Dutch champion Hans Becking, José Dias, Andreas Militadis or Pau Salvà.

Still in the male category, names like Fabian Rabensteiner or Michele Casagrande (Trek-Pirelli), two-time Swiss CX Champion Lukas Flückiger, World XCM Champion Massimo Debertolis who will be accompanied by four other great bikers from his Willier Force 7C team, including Johnny Cattaneo, 2004 XCM World Champion. In addition, the winners of the 2014 edition will be Markus Kaufmann (TEXPA SIMPLON) and Jochen Kass (Team Centurion Vaude), who will come along with Daniel Gesismayr, one of the best mountain bikers on the international scene.

Between the male and female category, this tenth edition of Andalucía Bike Race presented by Caja Rural Jaén accumulates up to six cyclists who have participated in Olympic Games. One of them is, of course, Carlos Coloma (BH TEMPLO CAFÉS UCC). The Spaniard biker will continue with his Olympic path with an obligatory stop in our race. 

Other great national marathon teams that will also be competing in this tenth edition, will be the BUFF®-SCOTT MTB Team and the Olympia Factory Cycling Team with Ever Alejandro Gómez as one of the main highlights.

In the women's category we find another outstanding name that has participated in the Olympic Games, as the American Lea Davison (USA CYCLING AND TEAM TWENTY20) will also have a good test on her way for the Olympics. A medallist in the 2014 and 2016 World Championships, the cyclist from Syracuse will put on the show. She is currently 19th in the UCI World ranking. Who also knows what it is like to participate in an Olympic Games, or rather in three, is the Italian Eva Lechner. The biker of the TRINX Factory Team, currently in 12th place in the UCI ranking, is possibly the most successful in recent years with eleven medals at world level, and thirteen European.

From the southern hemisphere, Mariske Strauss (CST POSTNL BAFANG MTB RACING TEAM), will be another of the cyclists who will put all the meat on the table. The South African is currently ranked 25th in the UCI ranking and we will certainly see her with the best.

More names that stand out from the list of main favourites are the Estonian Janika Lõiv (HAWAII EXPRESS) who is 11th in the UCI ranking, the Slovenian Blaza Pintaric (PINTATIM), as well as the Lithuanian Katazina Sosna (TORPADO-SÜDTIROL MTB PRO TEAM) or the Norwegian Hildegunn Hovdenak (Olympia Factory Cycling Team).

With a first level victories, Pintaric is currently number one in the world ranking of the Marathon Series. In addition, she has been Champion, runner-up and third in the European 

XCM Championship, as well as twice runner-up and third in the World XCM Championship, being in 2019 runner-up in the European and World Mountain Bike Championship.

As far as the national scene is concerned, Rocío del Alba García (BH TEMPLO CAFÉS UCC), will be another of the cyclists who will start her Olympic year with our event. Another cyclist from our country who will fight for everything is Natalia Fischer (Fischer Scott). After her change of team, the Malaga-based rider will be looking for her first Andalucía Bike Race presented by Caja Rural Jaén.

Continuing with the review of the women's category, Clàudia Galícia (Megamo) will participate again four editions later. The only national winner of this race will be one of the favourites for the final victory.

These are some of the names that will surely give a lot of quality to an edition that is expected to be spectacular.






Official Media